Meet Our 2020 Scholars

Scholars 2020


This year, the Foundation has appointed 16 dynamic and diverse doctoral Scholars hailing from a broad array of academic backgrounds from communities across Canada and around the world. Through outstanding achievement, they each bring unique qualities and perspectives to our community. In turn they benefit not only from our generous financial support but will also learn skills to help empower them as Engaged Leaders in their institutions and communities.

These Scholars are emblematic of our Strategic Plan 2019-2024 and the Foundation’s commitment to Inclusive Excellence and Engaged Leadership. Through this talented group of Scholars, the Foundation is meeting the goals of regional representation as well as representation of Indigenous candidates.

The 2020 Scholars will embark on a leadership program built upon experiential learning, benefitting from the experience and expertise of Mentors and Fellows through the scientific cycle Technology & Ethics. Timelier than ever, this theme will teach Engaged Leadership skills while exploring various aspects of biotechnology and artificial intelligence, notably in the development of health care policy and delivery systems.

The Foundation looks forward to the eventual participation of the 2020 Scholars in our community events, including the Institutes of Engaged Leadership. In the meantime, in light of travel and gathering limitations to curb the spread of COVID-19, the Foundation is developing virtual events that will bring our community together to share with and learn from one another.

Beyond their remarkable accomplishments, our newest Scholars were selected for demonstrating strong engagement in the values of the Foundation, committing to improving their skills in both official languages as well as familiarizing with Indigenous languages, and to actively volunteering in their communities. Selected from among hundreds of candidates nominated by universities across Canada and abroad, the 2020 Scholars’ research in the Social Sciences and Humanities reflects the four fundamental guiding themes of the Foundation: Human Rights and Dignity; Responsible Citizenship; People and their Natural Environment; and, Canada and the World. Their academic disciplines span a wide range including environmental sciences, public health, communications, history, education, political science, and law.


2020 Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Scholars

Allison Furniss—University of Cape Town

Anita Lazurko—University of Waterloo

Carole Boulebsol—Université de Montréal

Charlie Wall-Andrews—Ryerson University

Christina Goldhar—Memorial University

Christophe Tremblay—Université Laval

Jasmine Dionne—University of Victoria

Jennifer Lavalley – University of British Columbia

Jérémy Boulanger-Bonnelly — University of Toronto

Joel Bernbaum—University of Saskatchewan

Kalpana Mohanty – Harvard University

Kelsey Pennanen—University of Calgary

Laya Behbahani — Simon Fraser University

Leah Carrier—Dalhousie University

Rémy-Paulin Twahirwa — London School of Economics

Veronica Olin Oeverlid—Carleton University


About the Foundation

The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation is an independent and nonpartisan charity established in 2001 as a living memorial to the former prime minister and accomplished public intellectual. In 2002, with the support of the House of Commons, the Government of Canada endowed the Foundation with the Advanced Research in the Humanities and Human Sciences Fund. The Foundation also benefits from private donations. By granting doctoral scholarships and  appointing fellows and mentors to provide leadership training, the Foundation supports the development of a new generation of Engaged Leaders through the democratization of knowledge.