30 June 2016

A total of six members of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation were appointed to the Order of Canada among the 113 new appointments announced by the Governor General of Canada on 30 June 2016.

This honour recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

Officers of the Order of Canada

  • John Richard English, member, for “his contributions as a historian, author and administrator who has expanded our knowledge and understanding of Canada’s rich political heritage.” This is a promotion within the Order.
  • Roberta L. Jamieson, 2012 mentor, for “her contributions to Indigenous peoples across Canada, particularly for her work to improve funding, access and opportunity for Indigenous youth in the area of education.” This is a promotion within the Order.
  • John McCall MacBain, Chairman of the board, “For his achievements as a business leader and for his contributions to academic institutions as a philanthropist.”
  • John McGarry, 2011 fellow, for “his scholarly contributions to the study of ethnic conflict and for designing governance frameworks that promote peace.”

Members of the Order of Canada

  • Marie Wilson, 2016 mentor, “For her contributions to the development of the Northwest Territories, and for her work as a commissioner with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.”
  • Glenda Yeates, 2014 mentor, “For her service within the governments of Saskatchewan and Canada, notably for her immense contributions to maintaining and improving health care for Canadians.”

Congratulations to the recipients!

Learn more about the announcement.

John English

A Canadian academic who has also been very active in Canadian public life, he is currently the General Editor of the Dictionary of Canadian Biography

2003 Members

Roberta Jamieson

CEO and President of Indspire, she was the first woman from a First Nation in Canada to graduate from law school.

2010 Mentors

John McCall MacBain

Founder of the McCall MacBain Foundation and Pamoja Capital SA, he is the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation.

2012 Directors Members

John McGarry

John McGarry exemplifies Canadian expertise in conflict resolution and peacekeeping and is actively engaged in the critical negotiations currently taking place in Cyprus.

2011 Fellows

Marie Wilson

After 35 years as an award-winning journalist, broadcaster, and pioneer of Northern Canada’s first daily television news service, Marie Wilson served as one of three commissioners of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

2016 Mentors

Glenda Yeates

She brings an extensive experience in policy-making supported by evidence, acquired during a stellar career in the public service as deputy minister of Health Canada, in Saskatchewan’s departments of Health and Finance, and at the helm of the Canadian Institute for Health Information

2014 Mentors