8 December 2016

The Alumni Society of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation is pleased to introduce its new executive committee, elected on 28 October 2016. Under the presidency of 2011 scholar Mélanie Millette, the executive committee will include four other members: 2012 scholar Kerri Froc (vice president), 2007 scholar Jason Morris-Jung (secretary-treasurer), 2013 fellow Jean Leclair, and 2012 mentor Bernard Richard. The committee’s mandate is to foster productive and long-term relationships among Foundation community members, contribute to the network’s growing momentum, and drive reputation as an influential source of innovative ideas.

The new committee would like to warmly thank outgoing committee members Dyane Adam, Mike Ananny, Marie-Joie Brady, Rita Deverell, Jason Luckerhoff, Barbara Neis, and Christopher Tenove for their involvement and engagement over the past few years.

Mélanie Millette, 2011 scholar, President
Mélanie Millette, PhD, is a professor in the department of social and public communication at UQAM, as well as a member of the Laboratoire de communication médiatisée par ordinateur (LabCMO, UQAM and Université Laval) and The Fourchettes – Critical Methods in Technoculture collective. Her research deals with the political and cultural uses of social media and specifically the issues of visibility and public participation among members of minority communities.

"As a Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation scholar, I met inspiring, intelligent and committed people. The Foundation Society brings together former scholars, fellows and mentors and I would like to contribute to a network that is more active and visible. As a member of the new executive committee, I want to help build a meaningful network that takes action in keeping with the Foundation's humanist values."

Kerri Froc, 2012 scholar, Vice President
Kerri A. Froc is a postdoctoral fellow at Carleton University. She will be joining the Faculty of Law of the University of New Brunswick as assistant professor in July 2017. 

As vice president of the Society, Kerri looks forward to helping support the Society’s vital role in maintaining connections with former scholars, fellows, and mentors; facilitating communication and accountability to community alumni in relation to the Society’s decisions; and contributing her expertise in the governance practices of national non-profit organizations.

Jason Morris-Jung, Secretary-Treasurer, 2007 scholar
Jason Morris-Jung is a senior lecturer at SIM University, Singapore's newest national university and the first to be designated for developing the applied social sciences. Jason teaches courses on social science research and cultural diversity for the university’s core curriculum, and conducts research on the intersections of environmental politics, human rights, and democracy in Asia.

Jason is the Society’s secretary-treasurer. He still believes in the Foundation's vision as it was presented to him when he attended his first Summer Institute in 2007: the desire to build networks of policy leaders and public intellectuals. “I am particularly interested in helping build stronger community and connection both among alumni and together with the Foundation. As someone who is currently based in Singapore, I also hope to bring to our discussions a perspective that reflects the experiences and concerns of the many Trudeau alumni living and working outside Canada.”

Jean Leclair, 2013 fellow, administrator
Jean Leclair is a professor of constitutional law at the Université de Montréal and specializes in matters related to federalism and interactions between the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal legal traditions. His concerns are central to the key directions adopted by Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation.

"My desire to be part of the Foundation Society executive committee also stems from my desire to preserve the Foundation as a place of free intellectual research. Our world is increasingly exploiting knowledge for its own purposes. It is thus important for us to develop places where critical thinking can take place."

Bernard Richard, 2012 mentor, administrator
A lawyer, former MP, minister, ombudsman and children's advocate from New Brunswick, Bernard Richard is particularly interested in children's rights and Canada's progress on implementing the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. He works actively on initiatives dealing with conditions for children in developing countries, mental health among young people and improved well-being for Indigenous children. He hopes to bring the perspective of former mentors to the work of the Society.

You can reach the new executive committee of Foundation’s Alumni Society at society@trudeaufoundation.ca

Mélanie Millette

Mélanie is analyzing how social media can provide visibility and legitimacy to minority or marginalized groups. She is President of the Alumni Society of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation.

2011 Scholars Directors

Kerri Froc

Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Law and Legal Studies and an adjunct research professor at Carleton University. Kerri is Vice-President of the Alumni Society of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation.

2012 Scholars

Jason Morris-Jung

Jason is a Visiting Research Fellow at the Instiute of Southeast Asian Studies in Singapore. He is Secretary-Treasurer of the Alumni Society of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation.

2007 Scholars

Jean Leclair

Recognized as the foremost expert of federalism in Canada, he turns a critical eye on the political relationships between peoples and governments and is developing a theory of federalism that takes into account the desire for autonomy of the Quebec and Aboriginal nations. Jean Leclair is Administrator of the Alumni Society of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation.

2013 Fellows

Bernard Richard

An Acadian lawyer and a former social worker and former MLA, Bernard Richer has been appointed ombudsman and first child and youth advocate of New Brunswick. He is Administrator of the Alumni Society of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation.

2012 Mentors