2011 Trudeau scholar and doctoral student in social anthropology at the University of Aberdeen Zoe Todd gave a talk at the conference World of Matter: Extractive Ecologies and Unceded Terrains, at Concordia University. Her presentation focused on the impact of resource extractive on a fishing community in Paulatuuq, Northwest Territories. 

learn more

2012 Trudeau scholar Lisa Kerr, JSD student at New York University, is examining how prisons are governed and the rights of prisoners in Canada. Her recent works focus on the role of evidence in prisoners’ rights adjudication and on issues related to solitary confinement.

learn more

In this unprecedented age of celebrity influence, and thanks to the social media, myths and fads about health and diet are spreading faster than ever. Trudeau Fellow Timothy Caulfield's new book "Is Gwyneth Paltrow Wrong About Everything?" analyses the phenomenon and debunks the myths. 

learn more

As a new year begins, we invite you to appreciate how vibrant the Foundation's community has been this past year. The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation's 2014-2015 Annual Report is now available online. Thank you all for another successful year!

learn more

The Foundation welcomes suggestions from its community as to areas of inquiry that it should organize events around over approximately the next five years. Tell us through our online survey.

learn more


The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation encourages research, reflection and action in four areas important to Canadians: human rights and dignityresponsible citizenshipCanada's role in the world, and people and their natural environment. The Foundation works through four programs: it grants doctoral scholarships, it awards fellowships to distinguished academics, it appoints mentors and it holds public conferences.