The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation names 2019 Scholars

20 outstanding Scholars first to enter the Foundation’s new Leadership Program

This year, a record 20 Scholars have been named as recipients of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation’s unique and bold doctoral scholarship in the social sciences and humanities.



Our scholarship program is a gateway for courageous, bold, original thinkers who seek unconventional experiences beyond the halls of academia. Our Scholars are hungry to play a leadership role in their communities and help inspire positive change. This year’s recipients were chosen based on their compelling research that contributes to one or more of the Foundation’s four themes. They will embark on a three-year journey that will foster their development as leaders and offer critical reflection on the subject of Power & Knowledge.

This year’s Scholars come from diverse backgrounds, places, and disciplines, selected from among hundreds of candidates selected by universities in Canada and abroad. Focusing on important questions for Canada and the world, they are researching areas such as environmental sciences, public health, communications, education, political science, and law.

The 20 outstanding doctoral candidates are joining a community of past and current Scholars, Mentors and Fellows who together form a unique incubator of bold thinking and courageous action as they pursue cutting-edge research.


Learn more about the 2019 Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Scholars:

Vanessa Ambtman-Smith

Patricia Bérubé

Edith Brunette

Andreae Callanan

Carlo Charles

Abigail Curlew

Kody Doxtater

Jarita Greyeyes

Nataleah Hunter-Young

Suzanne Kite

Riley Kucheran

Caroline Leblanc

Cindy Ma

Linda Mussell

Eloise Ouellet-Décoste

Martha Paynter

Holly Prince

Diane Roberts

Darren (Daz) Saunders

Steven Vanloffeld