7 May 2014

Dear members of the Trudeau Foundation community,

On behalf of the board of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation, I am proud to announce the appointment of Morris Rosenberg as the Foundation’s new President and Chief Executive Officer as of September 2014. The appointment notice will appear in tomorrow’s Globe and Mail and La Presse.

Morris Rosenberg has been a highly-respected civil servant with a wealth of public policy experience both at the national and international level, which will be invaluable in defining the Foundation’s vision for the next 10 years. He is an excellent fit for the Foundation at this pivotal stage of its history.

Morris was Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs from 2010 to 2013, following an appointment as Deputy Minister of Health Canada from 2004 to 2010. From 1998 to December 2004, he served as Deputy Minister of Justice and Deputy Attorney General of Canada. Born in Montreal and bilingual, Morris began his public service career in 1979 with the Department of Justice.

As a senior policy-maker on issues related to the Foundation’s mandate, he will be instrumental in leveraging the network of outstanding individuals from the public, private and NGO sectors, as well as senior civil servants, our brilliant scholars, renowned mentors and distinguished fellows, which the Foundation has been cultivating over the last decade.

During the summer months, Morris will take the opportunity to meet members of the Trudeau community as occasions arise.

On behalf of the Foundation’s Board, Members, staff and the whole Trudeau community, I take this opportunity to thank Mr. Tim Brodhead for his service to the Foundation as interim president and chief executive officer since September 2013. Tim’s strategic acumen during the transition period has been instrumental in sustaining the Foundation’s relevance in the social sciences and humanities in Canada and around the world.

With my best regards,

John H. McCall MacBain
Chairman, Board of Directors
The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation

Morris Rosenberg

2005 mentor, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Foundation (2014 to 2018)

2005 Mentors